Hello!

​Hi there!

I wanted to take this first post to introduce myself to the blog world. My name is Marena and STILEDnyc is a lifestyle blog focused on the pages you see above; beauty, life, style, health, and home. Everything you find here will be through my own personal lens, and I will be sharing, exploring, and hopefully redefining what I love and what I find interesting.

I am an educator with a background in Fine Art. I have an Art Education BS and a Master of Fine Art under my belt. I have spent time in many different fields– house cleaning, screen printing, graphic design, copy writing and editing, and I even spent some time as a chocolatier (it was as great as it sounds)!

I am starting this blog, quite frankly, because I’ve been meaning to for a while and my horoscope told me summer 2017 would be a killer year for me on the Internet. I’ll take just about anything as a sign, so here we are.

I’m going to be honest– the beauty world intimidates the crap out of me. Just a few minutes on Instagram and I’m completely overwhelmed by all the gorgeous women out there with professional photography and lighting and well, you’re just not going to get that here. Instead you’ll get this, me sitting at my desk, taking selfies with all my crap in the background. If I’m being honest, I’m not the flashy type, it’s just not my style. Though, a professional photographer would be nice–if anyone is in the know of someone willing to work for free please send them directly my way.

My hope is to share my thoughts (there are many), opinions (there are even more of those), and findings as I work my way through New York City. I have lived here for four years and every day I see or experience something new and exciting. I’m aiming to inspire and create (or become part of!) a community of women who support each other, raise each other up, and share ideas and inspiration. 

The bottom line is, I love beautiful things and I am a bit neurotic (color coded closet, book cases, never a dirty dish in the sink). I appreciate brands and companies that have great design and branding, but that also actually work. I would describe my personal style as relaxed minimalism & classic–I typically stick to neutrals and clean lines and I prioritize comfort over all (flat feet, no heels here!), but we’ll talk more about that later! I’m also what many would consider “plus size”, so as I continue to write and share, I will be discussing topics surrounding body positivity and sharing my personal findings for all the curvy women out there.

Another aspect of this blog that I want to focus on will be budget– I am doing my best to look great on a teacher salary after all. I will be exploring and sharing ideas for how and where to find great stuff even if you’re not rollin’ in the dough!

I have to resist the urge to keep writing right now, as I have to leave myself some material to post about. I don’t want to give away too much information in my first post, so as we move along I will keep sharing more about myself.

I will be posting here regularly, but if you want to keep the most up to date with what’s happening at STILEDnyc, please check out the instagram @stilednyc (there’s a handy link on the right side of this page!).

I am so excited to start this journey, and I hope you stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

